SteadyOptions is an options trading forum where you can find solutions from top options traders. Join Us!

We’ve all been there… researching options strategies and unable to find the answers we’re looking for. SteadyOptions has your solution.

akroma

Hello all!

Hi all,

I just made my account after reading through some of the content on the website. So far I like what I see. I am a fairly independent thinker and don't take anything at face value, so I resonate with a lot that I have read on here so far. I used to be a professional poker player until I decided to switch careers when COVID hit. I had been burnt out on poker for a while and this was the perfect nudge to change directions. What I loved most about playing poker is dealing with probabilities. My favourite book to this day is Fooled by randomness (and the sequels), which I am sure most of you have read. 

I had been investing my poker winnings for the largest part of my career and I plan on maintaining that long term portfolio. As a part of my investing I decided to take a better look at options as I already knew they could improve my results. So I started writing puts on stocks I wanted to own anyways. That got me interested in options even more so I started watching youtube (admittedly, probably not the best source of knowledge) and bought a lot of books I could find on the topic. Some better than others (and some terrible). Here is a list of what I have read so far, maybe you all have some suggestios for further reading for me?

- Options trading for beginners - Rich Bond (Terrible book, waste of money imo) 

- The 3 best option strategies for beginners - Freeman publications (Not as bad as the previous book but not very good either) 

- How to price and trade options - Al Sherbin (Mostly seems like a good book to me, with my very limited knowledge)

- Option volatility and pricing - Sheldon Natenberg (not read yet)

- Options as a strategic investment - Lawrence Mcmillan (not read yet)