SteadyOptions is an options trading forum where you can find solutions from top options traders. Join Us!

We’ve all been there… researching options strategies and unable to find the answers we’re looking for. SteadyOptions has your solution.

Rumple4skin

ThinkOrSwim Platform

I'm a newbie and I'm learning to paper trade using the TOS paper trading platform. I'm trying to put some of the more complex earnings trade into their trading platform and having a hard time with it. Can anyone recommend some resources for helping learn the TOS system? I generally like the platform and it's fairly intuitive but I need a little bit of coaching on the more complex strategies. 

Also, did anyone else start with TOS paper trading and then go LIVE and see if there was a difference in execution prices? I'm wondering if I'm getting "real life" fills on the paper trading platform or if I'm in for a rude awakening when I move to LIVE trading. 

Thank you. 

Morning Rumple!  I think the most common problem people have is entering non standard trades with odd legs.    To enter these trades you need to create a standard order and then change the order type to custom.  You can then change the number of contracts on each leg independently.   Let me know if you have specific questions and I'll try to help.   Otherwise, youtube is a great resource for general educational videos on ToS.  I would advise searching for videos from within the last year to make sure you are viewing content that is still valid.   Best - Matt.

image.png

Contact this guy listed below if you want options trading fees well below $0.65/contract and help with the ThinkorSwim platform.  He’s with TD Ameritrade/Charles Schwab.