SteadyOptions is an options trading forum where you can find solutions from top options traders. Join Us!

We’ve all been there… researching options strategies and unable to find the answers we’re looking for. SteadyOptions has your solution.

I have experienced a Roadblock on my path of learning and growing. I would appreciate any suggestions or ideas to clear this block.

So I subscribed here and instantly realized that this is an ocean of knowledge and information which is must to pursue any real Options trading results. So I just read and learnt as much as I could for several weeks. 

I opened account with TOS and started paper trading the official trades. Only Hedged Straddles for now. I soon realized paper trading is completely useless for me. It may be useful for someone who is a complete beginner in Options trading ( I am not) I know about most trading strategies and legs and greeks and stuff...I just never figured out a consistent way to profit thought. I reason I said paper trading is useless is because the fills are not real. You can very easily get filled in paper trading on TOS but you would never get those same prices in real.  I can easily make 100% everyday on Paper Trading! 🙂 I also contacted the their support but that didn't get anywhere. 

That was all about why Paper Trading was not a way...so I deposited $1000. I didn't want to invest real money until I actually understood all dynamics of the trades we take but I had to make that call. My bad luck, the first trade I took was a loser! I believe the last 6-7 trades before the one I took were all winners. 🙂 It does hurt your confidence when that happens. Now TOS will not let me trade anymore. Some day-trading limitations having to do with $25000 balance. I am really not ready to invest $25000 into something that I am don't clearly understand 100%. But I don't want to stop here.

Please suggest how do I proceed from here?

Edited by yalgaar

There are two ways to fix this.