SteadyOptions is an options trading forum where you can find solutions from top options traders. Join Us!

We’ve all been there… researching options strategies and unable to find the answers we’re looking for. SteadyOptions has your solution.

CXMelga

Is the following a stratergy the others might use?

Hello,

At the moment I am new to options and selling OTM credit spreads (above and below the market). I try to sell OTM spreads where the POP of being ITM is 30% or less

I have quite a few positions open at the moment (%5 or less of account on each) across various sectors, but it is too early to say if this is going to work out for me

Naturally as this is a defined risk strategy the net premium (and therefore my profit) is limited because of the long strike (hedge)

So, I was thinking about the following, (if I have more time to keep my eye on the market)

Sell naked puts or calls very OTM as above, so more potential profit as I do not dilute with a long strike, (but more risk), the idea being  want the market to move away from my strike

Then if the market moves closer to my strike (depending on the level of move), let say I sell a call and the market is moving up, I could sell a put below the current market to get some premium (naked again), and if the market continues to move up perhaps sell another put and another (to get more premium)

Then if the market gets to close to my strike (e.g. sold call in this case) for my personal comfort buy a long strike to create a spread (hedge at that point). I know the long strike would be more expensive than if I have brought it in the first instance, but the credit from my short puts should help overcome this to some extent or completely.

I figure, if I sell 100 contracts, and each is far OTM and say 20 of these 100 contracts do not work out, as long as I do the above overall I could make more profit.