SteadyOptions is an options trading forum where you can find solutions from top options traders. Join Us!

We’ve all been there… researching options strategies and unable to find the answers we’re looking for. SteadyOptions has your solution.

candreouTrade

Directional trades using Collar

@Kim, @SBatch - I know that we don't typically trade directional strategies in the SO portfolio, but we have had good success with the VXX Collar trade.

My question is would it be possible to trade this vxx collar style trade, as a directional strategy, on any trending directional underling? If not, what would be the main concerns?

I would like to try a couple of strategies on some momentum stocks, to see the effects.

We have an inherent advantage using VXX that does not exist in equity underlyings.  We know absent vol spikes, VXX will move lower.  There is no such arrangement with equities.  Personally, I am not a proponent of attempting to trade short term direction in equities, I have just never seen it done successfully with consistency.

But are there many studies in the academic literature which shows that momentum strategies can be very successful with equites.

Also stocks like MSFT or AMZN have a good history of trending higher, and would probably be less likely to crash sharply than VIX. 

I do definatley see the benefits of VXX over stocks, but would like to try some small positions (maybe paper trade) on some trending stocks to add some diversity.

On 18.5.2018 at 4:14 PM, SBatch said:

We have an inherent advantage using VXX that does not exist in equity underlyings.  We know absent vol spikes, VXX will move lower.  There is no such arrangement with equities.  Personally, I am not a proponent of attempting to trade short term direction in equities, I have just never seen it done successfully with consistency.