SteadyOptions is an options trading forum where you can find solutions from top options traders. Join Us!

We’ve all been there… researching options strategies and unable to find the answers we’re looking for. SteadyOptions has your solution.

TDM

Getting Good Fills

Hey Everyone,

I'm considering the move to IB, but I already have a broker that I like through Fidelity (I negotiated commission on par with IB with the possibility of going lower later). I've been having some trouble getting fills, but I'm not sure if that's because I'm a new trader or because IB's fills are noticeable better. Those of you with IB, how close to the mid are you typically filled? I find I usually (but not always) need to give up around 2c from the mid to get filled. The exception is liquid or volatile spreads, like TSLA or NFLX, where I can usually get close to mid fills (or the mid jumps down a few cents and so I get filled at what was recently the mid).

If you are filled at the mid, do you have any tricks that help?

sometimes even weeks, 

from the Jan GOOG trade  I remember that Kim opened early (4 weeks before earnings)

I had a limit set that was lower than the official entry

my limit was triggered 4 days before earnings

so 3 1/2 weeks later

Edited by 4REAL

sometimes even weeks, 

from the Jan GOOG trade  I remember that Kim opened early (4 weeks before earnings)

I had a limit set that was lower than the official entry

my limit was triggered 4 days before earnings

so 3 1/2 weeks later

that's awesome.  goes to show the people complaining about fills are just complainers.

There are dozens of examples when members got better results than me, with some patience. Here are some from the last cycle:

BABA - https://steadyoptions.com/forum/topic/2592-discussion-baba-may-2015-trade/:I paid 1.29, many members got it for 1.20 few hours later.